Thank you & farewell, Thrice & Thursday

I posted a couple days ago mentioning Thrice’s hiatus.  The next day, November 22, Thursday announced that they would be going on an indefinite hiatus.  This got me thinking quite a bit about my personal connections with both bands.  I wasn’t terribly sad or particularly surprised that Thrice and Thursday both announced hiatuses–all things come to an end and both bands had very productive 13 year long runs.  Both bands formed around the same time and had strangely parallel careers.  Often lumped together as post hardcore, Thrice and Thursday toured together more than once and were both signed to Island Records (and both left after a fairly short time) around the same time.  In their messages to fans, neither band ruled out the possibility of recording and playing together at some point in the future.

Facts aside, there’s another reason I’m writing this.  I discovered Thursday in 2003, right after their album War All the Time was released.  It was a formative time in my life; I was only 13.  That album completely blew my mind.  I had never listened to anything that heavy before, and I was amazed by how beautiful a loud record could be.  I didn’t realize before then that heavy music could be melodic.  Most importantly, Thursday showed me that lyrics can be literature, they can be poetry.  There was more to music than lyrics about broken hearts and partying.  Thursday’s songs were about bigger, more important issues.  I really can’t put into words how much discovering Thursday changed me and shaped me as a person, but War All the Time will always hold a very special place in my heart.  I would go so far as to say it was the first serious album I ever really loved (a vast improvement over the blink-182 and other pop-punk I had been listening to).

Thrice followed shortly after Thursday, mainly because I kept reading that they were so similar.  They’re really not, but that’s another story.  It was love at first listen.  Thrice became a fixture in my life from that point on.  In fact, from the time I first saw them in 2004, I went to almost every headlining Thrice show in Philadelphia (and some extra gigs too).  Thursday may have started my love affair with lyrics, but Thrice continued it.  Where Thursday waned in and out of my life at various times, Thrice never left me.  Their music made me feel empowered.  I became more socially aware by listening to their music.  When I was 15, I went to my first Warped Tour and Thrice were headlining.  I had recently bought their live album, and a membership to their fan club, The Thrice Alliance, came with it.  I was ecstatic when I found out that this would get me into a meet and greet with the band, but I didn’t realize how cool it was going to be.  My friend and I got to go backstage.  Then while Thrice played their set, we got to stand on the side of the stage to watch.  Then we met them.  I was just a kid, and I was starstruck.  I probably said about a total of ten words the entire time we got to chat with them.  It’s still a story I tell, and it’s still one of my fondest memories from that point in my life.  Here’s an incredibly embarrassing picture from that day:

Me and Thrice

Me with Thrice circa Warped Tour 2005

Well, that’s awkward.  I think I was suffering from heat exhaustion at the time.  Back to my little open love letter to Thrice and Thursday.  I owe so much to Thrice.  Their music evolved with my own musical taste in a way that was almost eerie.  Each album changed in just the right way for the time in my life it was released.  I’m grateful I got to meet Thrice again this fall and see them perform on one of their last tours.  Here’s a much less embarrassing picture of me with Thrice from last month:

Me with Thrice circa October 2011.

There’s so much I can say about this band, and I’m starting to draw a blank and lose any eloquence I had going…  The point of this post was to say thank you to two very important bands.  Thank you, Thrice.  Thank you, Thursday.  Thank you for the 8 years of music you’ve created that I’ve followed, and the years before I started listening.  Thank you for creating something beautiful.  Thank you for playing countless shows and taking time to connect with your fans.  Thank you for all you’ve done for me and people like me.  Just thank you.

About kategasch

I'm an English Major and Journalism Minor at Rowan University. From that you can probably deduce that I love literature and writing, which is absolutely true. I'm passionate about a lot of things, but I think my biggest passion is music. Since I was about 12 or 13, music has been a huge part of my life. I started going to shows when I was around 14 and in the 7 years since then, I've been to more shows than I can recall, at least without the help of my ticket stub diary. I generally don't go to a lot of big shows. I prefer intimate venues--venues so small that the bands have to walk past you to get off and on the stage. Bars and basements where sometimes, if you're lucky, those 200 other people love the band just as much as you do and fill the room with energy that can't be replicated. View all posts by kategasch

Leave a Reply

