This Venue is Not Wheelchair Accessible: a video interview with Deb Stevenson

Deb & her boyfriend, Ian, with Andrew Jackson Jihad

I think it’s pretty obvious by now that I love going to concerts.  I spend a good amount of my small college student income on tickets, but I’m still constantly frustrated by the amount of shows I just can’t afford to go to.  I think I’m incredibly dedicated to music, probably more so than almost everyone I know.  Enter Deb Stevenson, my longtime friend and concert-going partner.  She goes to far more shows than I can even imagine, partially because of her involvement in the local music scene.  About a month ago, Deb got into a nasty car accident that left her with serious fractures in her left hand and foot that required surgery.  She was left totally wheelchair bound for a few weeks, only able to hop on one leg to move around at all and unable to use crutches for assistance due to the hand injury.  I think it’s safe to say that most people would resign themselves to taking a break from concerts–I certainly would, but not Deb.  Even in the days following her surgery, Deb was still determined to not let being temporarily wheelchair bound effect her love for live music.  The inconvenience of the wheelchair was definitely not going to stop her from seeing one of her favorite bands, Andrew Jackson Jihad, when they came to Philly a few weeks ago.  In the following video, Deb talks about why she goes to shows, how being in a wheelchair changes the experience, and her experience at the Andrew Jackson Jihad show.  Also featured in the video is Deb’s chihuahua mix, Lupe, who frequently attends local shows with her and her boyfriend and some footage of Andrew Jackson Jihad at the show we went to.

Disclaimer: this is my first ever foray into video editing of any kind, and I experienced quite a few technological disasters during the making of it.

This Venue is Not Wheelchair Accessible from Kate Gaschnig on Vimeo.

About kategasch

I'm an English Major and Journalism Minor at Rowan University. From that you can probably deduce that I love literature and writing, which is absolutely true. I'm passionate about a lot of things, but I think my biggest passion is music. Since I was about 12 or 13, music has been a huge part of my life. I started going to shows when I was around 14 and in the 7 years since then, I've been to more shows than I can recall, at least without the help of my ticket stub diary. I generally don't go to a lot of big shows. I prefer intimate venues--venues so small that the bands have to walk past you to get off and on the stage. Bars and basements where sometimes, if you're lucky, those 200 other people love the band just as much as you do and fill the room with energy that can't be replicated. View all posts by kategasch

Leave a Reply

