Jeff Mangum plays an impromptu set at Occupy Wall Street Protests

Jeff Mangum, lead singer and song writer for lo-fi indie gods Neutral Milk Hotel made an impromptu appearance at NYC’s Occupy Wall Street protests last night.  He played several songs form Neutral Milk Hotel’s discography and a cover.  You can watch a livestream and read more about the event on Pitchfork.  Here is a quick clip of Mangum playing “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea.”  The crowd gladly sings along and provides the missing instrumentation.

Also worth noting is the upcoming release of the Neutral Milk Hotel boxed set.  The massive set includes vinyl copies of both NMH albums along with all the EPs, a few singles, and some unreleased tracks.  It’s a bit pricey at $88 plus shipping, but considering the amount of material you get, I think it’s well worth the cost.  If you’re not a vinyl collector, you can also acquire the album via “pay-as-you-wish” mp3 downloads starting November 22.

About kategasch

I'm an English Major and Journalism Minor at Rowan University. From that you can probably deduce that I love literature and writing, which is absolutely true. I'm passionate about a lot of things, but I think my biggest passion is music. Since I was about 12 or 13, music has been a huge part of my life. I started going to shows when I was around 14 and in the 7 years since then, I've been to more shows than I can recall, at least without the help of my ticket stub diary. I generally don't go to a lot of big shows. I prefer intimate venues--venues so small that the bands have to walk past you to get off and on the stage. Bars and basements where sometimes, if you're lucky, those 200 other people love the band just as much as you do and fill the room with energy that can't be replicated. View all posts by kategasch

Leave a Reply

