Shows to Check out in October

Rather than name a show or two each week, I’ve decided to give you guys all my recommendations for October at once.

10/2/11  Explosions in the Sky with The Antlers at the Tower Theatre

10/8/11  James Blake at the Trocadero

10/10/11  The Rosebuds at Johnny Brenda’s

10/13/11  Thrice with O’Brother at the Electric Factory

10/19/11  Wild Flag at the Union Transfer

10/21/11 Kevin Devine and the Goddamn Band at the North Star Bar

10/25/11  Cymbals Eat Guitars at the First Unitarian Church

These are all bands that I can attest to being well worth your time and interest.  If I mentioned the opening bands, it’s because they are also very good and worth checking out.   There are tons of other great shows this month hosted by r5 Productions that I haven’t listed here.

I recently saw the Rosebuds open for Bon Iver at the Tower Theatre.  They were absolutely awesome live and won me over right away, which is pretty hard to do when you’re there to see a band as intriguing and amazing as Bon Iver.  I’ve had the pleasure of seeing Thrice six or seven times, and can honestly say that they are one of the few bands that may actually be better live.  O’brother, Thrice’s opener, is one of the best heavy bands out there you haven’t heard of yet.  I’ve also seen Kevin Devine several times and will be attending the North Star Bar show.  Kevin Devine is an incredibly talented songwriter, and I believe he’s one of the most underrated artists around right now.   The other bands and artists I mentioned I haven’t seen live, but recommend nonetheless.

 

So, do you have any recommendations to add?  If you do, leave a comment.

About kategasch

I'm an English Major and Journalism Minor at Rowan University. From that you can probably deduce that I love literature and writing, which is absolutely true. I'm passionate about a lot of things, but I think my biggest passion is music. Since I was about 12 or 13, music has been a huge part of my life. I started going to shows when I was around 14 and in the 7 years since then, I've been to more shows than I can recall, at least without the help of my ticket stub diary. I generally don't go to a lot of big shows. I prefer intimate venues--venues so small that the bands have to walk past you to get off and on the stage. Bars and basements where sometimes, if you're lucky, those 200 other people love the band just as much as you do and fill the room with energy that can't be replicated. View all posts by kategasch

One response to “Shows to Check out in October

  • electrophilly

    I like all of the pictures and information. Since it is a music blog, I think you should look into adding some audio clips or videos. Nice work though.

Leave a Reply

